Review: The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

51e2b7v-pdyl

 

Rating: 4 out of 5 Cups of Tea

3780e-screen2bshot2b2015-04-222bat2b11-54-502bam

Genre: Fantasy

Summary: Slaves, known as Skaa, struggle in a world governed by an elite group ultimately ruled by The Lord Ruler, an evil and all-powerful man who was destined greatness. Some are born with similar powers, though not as great as The Lord Ruler’s. Revered if elite, killed if skaa, these powers can mean the world a difference when protecting oneself and family. Can a wary and scraggly group of Skaa thieves and tricksters overcome The Lord Ruler before all hope in freedom is lost?

Things I Loved:

  1. Vin is a lovely, wonderful, kick-ass character. I loved everything about her. From her flaws, to her strengths, she was a joy to follow through this story.  
  2. I came for the fantasy, I stayed for Elend Venture. He’s just such a fascinating character, and I really hope he’s in future books more, because I want to know everything about this boy.
  3. The action scenes were actually really great. I’m not a huge fan of reading action scenes, and usually find myself skimming them, but I stuck with these ones, and they paid off.
  4. The depths this novel dove into in searching for answers about hope and humanity. If you want a book that will make you question what it means to have hope, what it means to have freedom, and what it ultimately means to be human, pick this one up for sure.
  5. The magic system has SO well planned out. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever read a book with a better magic system.

Things I Disliked:  

  1. It felt never-ending at times. It covers such a span of events and time that I wondered if I was ever going to finish the novel.
  2. Death sucks and it took one of my favorites and that is all I have to say without spoiling anything.

Recommend to: fantasy lovers; those looking to get into fantasy; magic lovers; someone looking for a new and exciting world.

Leave a Reply

