Review: See How They Run by Ally Carter

 

24644814

Rating: 4 out of 5 Cups of Tea

3780e-screen2bshot2b2015-04-222bat2b11-54-502bam

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Summary: In the sequel to All Fall Down, Grace deals with the revelation she had at the end of the last novel. This spends her spinning, and her brother showing up doesn’t help matters. Grace receives no time to process what she has learned, though, between learning about a secret society, the murder of her brother’s friend, and Alexei, Russian bad-boy/heartthrob, being accused of said murder. Grace’s life just got even more complicated, and she’s not sure how much more she can handle.

Things I Loved:

  • In all honesty, All Fall Down was a bit of a disappoint me for me. I love Ally Carter’s books, but her last novel just let me down. On a whim, I picked this one up at the library, and I am so glad that I did. This was the Ally Carter I know and love, back with a vengeance.
  • Grace’s character development in this novel was wonderful. The revelation she had at the last book was the perfect set up for her to struggle and grow. Carter did not let readers down. I forsee a lot more growth to come from Grace.
  • Alexei and Grace are adorable, and I ship it.
  • Grace and her brother’s relationship was perfection. Their relationship was super realistic. It had the perfect mix of love, banter, and annoyance.

Things I Disliked:  

  • I wish more would have been done with the secret society. It was mentioned at the beginning and then was a key part at the end of the novel, but it was missing from the middle. I feel I would have been more invested had it been mentioned throughout the novel.
  • The insta-kiss from Jamie’s friend was weird. Though it moved the plot forward and instigated the fight with Alexei, it was still a little too bizarre and creepy for me.

Recommend to: fans of Ally Carter’s other novels, anyone looking for a quick read, those who like unreliable narrators

Leave a Reply

