The TBR Takedown of 2017 | Pemberley Ramblings

Alright, guys. Here’s it is: I have upwards of 150 books that I need to get through this year.

Now, I usually average about 80 books a year, including some I reread. So, let’s say I get through 70 books a year. At this rate, it would take me a year and a half or so to get through my TBR. Not bad… Except, I also have a problem buying books. See, I like having a good amount of books to choose from when its time for a new read. I also like keeping up on the latest releases.

So, here I am, with a growing TBR pile, unable to catch up.

This is where The TBR Takedown of 2017 comes into play. By the end of 2017, I would like t0 get down to only 15 books in my TBR pile. I like having a choice of books to read, so I think this is a reasonable number.

Here’s the plan:

  1. Get rid of books.
    • I need to give some of my books away. I’ve had some of these books for YEARS, you guys. I either bought them or received them and just never read them. Here they sit on my shelves, collecting dust, crying out to me about how unloved they are. So, I’m planning on either selling or donating  at least 30 books this year. This is going to be hard for me to do, but I’m going to power through.
  2. Book Buying Ban 2.0
    • I hate this part. I hate it. I love buying books. It’s an obsession, really. My roommate rolls her eyes at me whenever I bring home a new book, but I feel so good placing it on my shelves with all the others I haven’t read yet. Back in 2015 I decided to do a Book Buying Ban for a few months, to cut down on spending and my TBR pile. It lasted a few months, but not long enough for me to make a dent in my TBR pile. So, we’re re-issuing the same rules I had then, except this time for the whole of 2017.
    • The Rules:
      • I may buy one book for every ten books I read from my TBR pile. I can’t quit cold-turkey, guys. This will encourage me and keep me sane.
      • This means no binge-buying. I will only buy one book at a time. Not two, not ten. One book only.
      • Once the one book is purchased, I must read it immediately, as to not add to the TBR pile.
      • This one book does not count for the ten books needed to buy another.
      • If I am given a book during this time, this unfortunately will count as the one I am allowed to buy for every ten read. I will skip the next buy.
      • This will last through 2017, unless I somehow, magically, get through my TBR pile before the end of the year.
  3. Keeping Track
    • To both encourage myself and to stay accountable, I will be keeping track of my progress. You may find that, here. It will include a list of all the books in my TBR pile, all the books I’ve read, and all the ones I’ve gotten rid of.

Well, guys, wish me luck! It’s going to be a long year, but I hope to keep you all updated with a blog post every three months or so. I feel good about this, but I know it will get hard in the coming months, so ahead of time, I thank you all for the support and encouragement I will be needing.

Your Pemberley Reader,

Acacia

2 thoughts on “The TBR Takedown of 2017 | Pemberley Ramblings

Leave a Reply

