Review: The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

28763485

Title: The Sun Is Also A Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Release Date: November 1, 2016 

Pages: 384

Synopsis (via Goodreads):

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

 Things I Loved:

  • I was a little weary of this book, because it has been pretty hyped since its release. I was not disappointed, though. It so lived up to all the hype, and I can honestly say it far exceeded my expectations.
  • The characters were complex and interesting to read about. They had multiple layers that made the reading experience into a challenge to find all of these layers.
  • Yoon dives deep into supporting characters as well, giving some of them their own chapter sections. Not only are they interesting, but they add to the story in important ways, too.
  • I was wary of this being a book solely about “insta-love,” which… it is, but it isn’t. Yes, the characters meet and fall in love in one day, something I usually can’t stand reading, but Yoon takes it and makes it believable. She folds out the day to make it longer, and in the end she makes you want to believe in love at first sight.
  • I was so scared of how this book would end, but Yoon pulled it off beautifully. The end was worth every second of fear.
  • Yoon’s writing is phenomenal in this book. I loved her book Everything, Everything, but I wasn’t wowed by her writing in that book. There were snippets of absolute beauty there, but you can tell that Yoon really took the time and effort to pour herself into the writing in this book. It’s stunningly beautiful.
  • The diversity! So much diversity! A Jamaican girl protagonist and her family, and a Korean boy protagonist and his family, and its just all so well done. Yoon took a close look at culture, history, identity, immigration, racism, and a lot more, and she does it so, so well.

Things I Disliked:

  • Nothing. This book was beautiful, magical, and so worth picking up and reading.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Cups of Tea

c6a8c-screen2bshot2b2015-04-222bat2b11-55-022bam

Leave a Reply

